Gabriel’s Rapture by Sylvain Reynard

My Rating: 5/5 Stars

” Love is not love
Which alters when it alteration finds,
Or bends with the remover to remove.
O no, it is an ever-fixed mark
That looks on tempests and is never shaken;
It is the star to every wand’ring bark,
Whose worth’s unknown, although his height be taken.”

(Sonnet 116)”- William Shakespeare, Shakespeare’s Sonnets

description

I am truly devoted to this series and to Sylvain’s penmanship. God, you can feel how dedicated he was in every aspect of this book, from the plot, to the characters and other details that surrounded it. I can only imagine the hard work and research put into writing this book, because not one word is there unnecessary and without meaning.

“Gabriel’s Rapture” is the second installment of this great trilogy. Here we find our beloved Gabriel already exploring his relationship with Julia, his younger lover. After the happenings in book 1, they accepted their feelings from one another and are madly in love.

Their connection is intense and passionate. I enjoyed the attention that the writer had on building this special relationship between Gabriel and Julia. From my point of view it is one of the most beautiful love stories ever, because the humanity of its heroes. They are not perfect, they made made mistakes, but they love passionately and with such intensity that makes you able to feel it in every page of the story. They complete each other, make each other better and dream for a future together, despite having so much against them. Being different made them special and brought them together, as in light and dark, making up one unique love story.

” You are teaching me to love, and I suppose I’m teaching you to love too, in a way. We aren’t perfect, but we can have happiness. Can’t we?”

I love Gabriel and I believe that no matter how many books I read this book, he ruined me for future book boyfriends. He is the definition of complexity and I enjoyed this second installment because here I could see another side of him, the protector. Now, when Julia’s future is being threatened, he is willing to do everything to not let it happen. The puts her first, having to face suffering and lost because he can’t bring her pain.

I love him so much for this, and my admiration for him kept on growing. Although he is very stubborn sometimes, you can’t seem to not like him, always finding ways of justifying his actions. Julia is the one who makes him feel alive and worthy of love, despite the past that he had. This element of finding peace is still kept in the second book, because Gabriel tries so hard to make her happy and proud of being his lover. He searches for redemption in Julia’s arms and his efforts are truly admirable.

” I’m no miracle worker. But I love you.”

“There was a time when I could have been led astray. But that was before I found you. I would rather spend the rest of my life drinking your love, then emptying all the oceans of the world.”

I loved the way their relationship is accentuated in all its features, beginning with the sexual connection and ending with the deep feelings they have for each other. Gabriel talks about loving as a whole, loving completely and giving in in all its aspects. Sexual satisfaction can be considered lust, but love is more complex, and enraptures more feelings and sensations.

“I can tell that I please your body. But your body is not your mind, or your heart.”
He takes care of her as a whole, body and soul, and this side of him is amazingly featured in the book.
Julia on the other hand goes trough a lot before finding her happiness with Gabriel. But these events made her grow as a women. I liked this strong side of her, the way she fights for what she wants, but also the way she let’s go, trying to do the best thing for her and for Gabriel. Her loyalty to him is fierce and I admired her for her strength to move on. She begins with being a sweet young girl, to a women having to fight for her happiness and for the things she cares. She also has the dignity of moving on, even though her heart is telling her she can’t.
If in the first book we witness the development of their relationship, in this one we get to see how they managed being apart, having to trust one another and in the end seek forgiveness for the mistakes they both did.

I truly recommend this book and others from Sylvain Reynard because he is amazing and has one of the best writing styles ever.

 

Leave a Reply

